Incredible. It worked. At the second attempt, admittedly, but it worked. I now have a blog up and running. Well, hobbling along a little arthritically at any rate. 

I’m not sure why it took two attempts to reach a modicum of success, as I am quite at home with a computer, having used one for the first time in 1974, a room-filling monstrosity, graduating to the powerful machines we have today, and which practically do our thinking for us. Not that I know as much about computers as I would like, but to be fully confident in the field, it seems I should be a few decades younger, when I was arrogant enough to think I knew a lot more than I really did. Does this thought represent growing wisdom, or failing powers, I wonder? Answers on the back of a five hundred euro note, please.

Referring to my first post regarding the greenhouse, it’s a bit difficult to be happy in it right now, as winter is still upon us, and it is impossible to get the door open because of the deep banks of snow all round. Still, the sun is out, the white stuff is sinking slowly, the birds are making funny noises, and there are definite signs of Spring in the air. It’s hard to believe, but maybe, just maybe, we get a harvest from the garden this year after all. Tomatoes, paprika, onions, garlic (we love garlic – not a vampire in sight), twenty different herbs, carrots, peas, beans, leeks, broccoli, sprouts, black, green and red currants, gooseberries, sea buckthorn, apples, saskatoon, plus all the wild growth we can call on later, such as lingon, bilberries and mushrooms. There are others too, but this list alone makes me feel hungry.

